Metro Chiefs meet in Edmonton, Alberta

2019-2020 officers and board members elected

June 18, 2019
The Metropolitan “Metro” Fire Chiefs Association, a Section of the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC) and National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) held its 2019 annual conference in Edmonton, Alberta June 8-14. More than 110 Metro chiefs from Australia, Belgium, Canada, China, Mexico, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom and the United States attended the conference and elected the Association’s 2019-2020 officers and board members.

The officers are:

  • Chief Mike Duyck, president; Tualatin Valley, Oregon Fire & Rescue District
  • Chief John Lane, vice president; Winnipeg Fire and Paramedic Service, Winnipeg, Manitoba
  • Chief Don Lombardi, secretary; West Metro, Colorado Fire Protection District
  • Chief Robert Rocha, treasurer; Corpus Christi, Texas Fire Department

The new board members are:

  • Chief Eric Tade, board member; Denver, Colorado Fire Department
  • Chief (retired) William Bryson, re-elected as the senior board member for a second year; Miami and Miami-Dade, Florida Fire and Rescue Departments
  • Chief Edward “Loy” Senter, Jr., alternate board member, Chesterfield County, Virginia, Fire & EMS
  • Chief (retired) Otto Drozd III, immediate past president, Orange County, Florida Fire and Rescue Department

Chief Mark Light, IAFC Executive Director and CEO issued the oath of office to the new officers and board members.

The Metro Chiefs bestowed the following 2019 Metro Awards and Honors:

  • Chief Kevin McGee of the Prince William County (VA) Fire Department was named Fire Chief of the Year
  • Chief (retired) Mary Beth Michos, former Deputy Executive Director/Chief of Operations of the IAFC and former Chief of the Prince William County (VA) Fire Department, received the Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Mr. Steve Kerber, Vice President of the UL Firefighter Safety Research Institute received the President’s Award of Distinction
  • Dr. Lori Moore-Merrell, President and CEO of the International Public Safety Data Institute and longtime assistant to the general president of the International Association of Fire Fighters was named an Honorary Member of the Metropolitan Fire Chiefs Association. Moore-Merrell is only the fourth person in the Association’s 54-year history to receive this honor. The previous three recipients being George D. Miller and James M. Shannon, both former NFPA Presidents and Chief Ernest Mitchell, a former USFA Administrator

USFA Administrator G. Keith Bryant, NFPA President and CEO Jim Pauley, IAFC President and Chair of the Board Dan Eggleston, IAFC CEO and Executive Director Mark Light, Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs President and conference host, Ken Block, CFO Roy Wilsher, Chair of the National Fire Chiefs Council of the UK, CFO Peter Holland, the United Kingdom’s Chief Inspector Crown Premises Fire Safety, Netherlands Fire Service President Stephan Wevers, Australasian Fire Authorities Council CEO Stuart Ellis, and the Mexican Association of Fire Chiefs President Adolfo Miguel Duque Benavente were just a few of the many dignitaries in attendance representing partner associations.

A comprehensive education program focused on two major themes: Data/Technology and Emergency Medical Service (EMS). EMS presentations addressed Past, Present and Future Issues, Whole Blood Transfusions, and Community Paramedicine. Several interesting Data/Technology topics were presented, such as an update on NFORS/FireCares, There’s an App for That, Data Helps Me Sleep at Night, and more. Numerous other presentations addressed a wide-range of topics including Generational Differences in the Fire Service, Terrorism Incidents, the latest in Fire Research and Science from the Underwriters Laboratories Firefighter Safety Research Institute, as well as updates on topics such as, Wildland Fires and FirstNet’s Public Safety Network, which included panel discussions.

During the business sessions, a motion was adopted authorizing the Metro president to sign a memorandum of understanding with the Next Generation 911 Alliance to advocate for Congressional funding of NG911. Motions were also adopted to provide financial support to the Canadian and United States Fallen Fire Fighters Associations, and the Home Fire Sprinkler Coalition. Metro President Otto Drozd III and Comandante Adolfo Miguel Duque Benavente, Presidente, Asociación Méxicana De Jefes De Bomberos, signed a partnership agreement between the two associations.

A special thank you to Edmonton Fire Chief Ken Block and his entire team and the Metro loyal sponsors who went above and beyond in making this conference the outstanding event it was. The 2020 Metro conference will be hosted by Chief Darryl Jones of the Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Bureau of Fire. The conference is scheduled for June 6-10.

The Metropolitan Fire Chiefs (Metro) Associationbrings together fire chiefs from large metropolitan fire departments to share information and focus on major issues effecting policy changes in the U.S. and abroad. Its members belong to the IAFC and NFPA and are the fire chiefs of jurisdictions with minimum staffing of 350fully paid career fire fighters. For more information, contact Metro Executive Secretary, Russ Sanders.

For this release and other announcements about NFPA initiatives, research and resources, please visit the NFPA press room.

About the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)
Founded in 1896, NFPA is a global, nonprofit organization devoted to eliminating death, injury, property and economic loss due to fire, electrical and related hazards. The association delivers information and knowledge through more than 300 consensus codes and standards, research, training, education, outreach and advocacy; and by partnering with others who share an interest in furthering the NFPA mission. For more information, visit All NFPA codes and standards can be viewed online for free at


Sign up to subscribe to custom state Daily Dispatch emails for free

click to subscribe