Five finalists named for La Crosse fire chief

  • Source: WXOW-TV ABC 19 lacrosse
  • Published: 06/01/2022 12:35 PM

Five people are named as finalists to become the next chief of the La Crosse Fire Department. The city released the names of the candidates Wednesday afternoon. None are currently with the department. Only one is from the area. Assistant Fire Chief Les Norin of the Onalaska Fire Department is one of the five. Only one other candidate is from Wisconsin. Aaron Swaney is the Fire Chief of the Jackson Fire Department in Jackson, located just north of Milwaukee. The five are seeking to replace Ken Gilliam, who left to take a position at a fire department in Arizona. The city's Police and Fire Commission named Assistant Fire Chief Jeff Murphy as Interim Fire Chief effective on April 16. At that time, Chairman of the Police and Fire Commission Doug Happel said they were hoping to have a permanent chief named by June.


We welcome comments from registered users. Comments are solely the responsibility of those who post them; their viewpoints are not endorsed by the Daily Dispatch and (read more)
ship name
no comments have been added

Sign up to subscribe to custom state Daily Dispatch emails for free

click to subscribe