Most people know when an emergency vehicle of any kind approaches their vehicle with lights flashing it means get out of the way. But did you know that you can be fined in South Carolina for not moving away when a police car, firetruck, ambulance or any emergency vehicle is parked on the side of the road as officers deal with crashes and disabled vehicles. The law includes police bicycles operating as emergency vehicles. The fine? No less than $300 and no more than $500.
Proposed legislation would tighten that up even further with points added to your license if you violate the law. Drivers can amass 12 points before a license is suspended. The South Carolina Senate passed the changes to the so-called move-over law and it is pending in the House of Representatives when the legislature reconvenes in January.