Fire Museum in Central Ohio Showcases History of Local Firefighters

  • Source:
  • Published: 02/22/2024 12:00 AM

PHOTOS: Located in the former Columbus Engine House No.16, the building was completed in 1908 and was built as the last engine house in the city to accommodate horse-drawn steam engines. The station closed in 1982 and after twenty years of fundraising and a $900,000 renovation, the museum moved into the building and opened to the public in 2002. Now, the beautifully restored engine house is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is the perfect place to showcase the history of Columbus' heroic firefighters. Whether you're interested in fire safety, learning about the history of firefighting, or just looking for a unique museum to explore, the Central Ohio Fire Museum & Learning Center is an excellent community resource. The museum houses a collection of antique firefighting equipment, including hand-pumped engines, horse-drawn wagons, and early motorized fire trucks.


We welcome comments from registered users. Comments are solely the responsibility of those who post them; their viewpoints are not endorsed by the Daily Dispatch and (read more)
ship name
no comments have been added

Sign up to subscribe to custom state Daily Dispatch emails for free

click to subscribe